Driving under the influence can be a problem if you get caught. Depending on the circumstances surrounding your case, you could end up paying a hefty fine and spending some time in jail.
DUI charges are mostly based on the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level which may vary by state. In California, drivers with a BAC of 0.08% or higher can get a DUI charge regardless of whether or not the driving ability was actually impaired or not. Law enforcement officers should ideally measure the BAC at the time of driving but failure to do so doesn’t mean that the driver is free, as accountability can still be proven with BAC taken at a later time.
The penalties for a first time DUI conviction in California include a $390 fine plus penalty assessments over $1000, a 48-hour jail sentence or a 90-day license restriction which only allows the driver to drive to and from work as well as on-the-job, attending and completing a three-month alcohol-treatment program and a loss of the driver’s license for 30 days.
A DUI charge can be pleaded down by an attorney in Los Angeles, CA to a “wet reckless” which is a conviction of reckless driving involving alcohol. This might be accepted if there was no accident, if the amount of alcohol was borderline, and if there are no prior records. I It still counts, however, as a prior drunk driving conviction in such a case that the driver is again convicted within 10 years, meaning the penalties received will not be for a first conviction.